The Grand Slam tournaments

The Grand Slam tournaments consist of the world four most prestigious annual tennis events. The major offers the most ranking points, prize, public and media attention, as well as the best strength and size of field. The Grand Slam tournaments consists of the Australian Open organized in mid January, the French Open organized around late May through early June, Wimbledon organized in June–July, and the US Open organized in August–September. 

The Australian and United States tournaments are played on hard courts, the French Open is played on clay, and Wimbledon is played  on grass. Among the four tournaments, Wimbledon is the oldest, founded in 1877, followed by the US Open founded in 1881, the French Open founded in 1891, and the Australian founded in 1905. 

Grand Slam tournaments are operated by by the International Tennis Federation (ITF) while the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) and the Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) work on award ranking points based on a player’s performance at a major.

The term Grand Slam refers to the achievement of winning all four major championships titles in one calendar year within one of the five major events namely men’s and women’s singles; men’s and women’s doubles, and mixed doubles.

If a player win the four majors in consecutive tournaments but not in the same year, it is known as a Non-Calendar Year Grand Slam, while winning all four majors during the career is known as a Career Grand Slam. 

The term “Golden Grand Slam” refers to players who win the gold medal at the Summer Olympic Games in addition to the four majors in one calendar year 

The term “Super Slam” refers to win the Year-End Championship which is known as ATP Finals for men’s singles and doubles, and WTA Finals for both women’s disciplines in the same period.

All four majors -singles, doubles, and mixed doubles – in all three disciplines are called a “boxed set” of Grand Slam titles which yet no male or female player has won twelve events within one calendar year.